Columbia Pacific (ColPac) Maritime
Originally in Portland. But, now Columbia Pacific (ColPac) Maritime is located in Coos Bay, Oregon.
Our mission: is to help you to get a professional deck license. In other words, we provide USCG approved classes for: Master, Mate, and OUPV. And likewise, we have classes for: AB, and Radar too.
About the school
Location (Coos Bay)
ColPac Maritime, is located in the Newmark Center of the SWOCC campus. The address is: 2110 Newmark, Coos Bay, Oregon 97420. The office is in room 208, on the second floor. And the classroom is next door, in room 207.
Mailing address: PO Box 360, Coos Bay, Oregon 97420.
The school is open: 7:30 AM to close, 7-days a week. Therefore, courses go 7-days a week, too. That is to say, there is no weekend down time. However, please call to schedule office visits.
But, The school is closed for some vacation and holiday time. Schedule >>
Registration (Call Pat at 503-841-6066)
To reserve space in a course call Pat at (503) 841-6066. Firstly, this requires paying a $200 non-refundable deposit. After that, an invoice will be emailed to you. And then, the balance is due one week before the first day of the course.
Firstly, cancelations made up to 24-hours before the course start time will receive a full refund. Minus the $200 deposit, of course.
But, there is no charge to reschedule a course within 90-days of the original course date. That is to say, your deposit is not lost when rescheduling. In addition, we are also happy to issue a full credit, good for one-year, when it is not possible to reschedule within 90-days.
BUT, NO SHOW – NO CALL – NO REFUND!
ColPac Maritime is happy to give a 10% discount to: veterans, active duty military, and law enforcement. To receive this discount, let Pat know that you qualify when you call. And then, use your veterans, or law enforcement ID when you show-up for the course.
Columbia Pacific (ColPac) Maritime: USCG Approved Courses
Approved courses, mean no Coast Guard exams. To clarify, ColPac Maritime courses are USCG approved for passing the exams! Here is a short list of our approved courses. Tap the title for more info.
The OUPV, or Operator of Uninspected Passenger Vessel. This captain license is limited to six-passengers. And can be used on inland, OR oceans.
The Master can carry more than six passengers. And, can also be used on inland, OR oceans. This course includes Mate. And, 25, 50, and 100-ton limits as well.
The AB is for experienced sailors. In contrast, the OS is for entry level.
The Apprentice Mate is the first step from deck to the wheelhouse. Get it as soon as you can.
This captain license for the fishing vessels greater than 200 GRT. On the other hand, operators of fishing vessels less than 200 GRT are not required to be licensed. But, there are some benefits to doing so.
Towing vessels, and inspected vessels over 300 GRT, require the captain and mates to have radar training. But, other captains will benefit from this training too.
Upgrade a captain license without retaking the full course. In short, we offer a full range of upgrade courses. Including Inland to Near Coastal, Celestial Navigation, and much more.
We also offer renewal courses for OUPV, Master, Mate, and Radar.
Merchant Mariner Credential
The US Coast Guard issues the Merchant Mariner Credential (MMC). It is a passport-style book. And, it contains the mariner’s professional qualifications as endorsements. For example: Master, Mate, and OUPV are National Deck Officer Endorsements. While, the AB is a National Deck Rating Endorsement. In short, these are commonly called licenses.
The mariner must apply to a USCG Regional Exam Center (REC) for their MMC. The application includes several documents and forms. In addition, the cost is about $500 to $600. But, this does not include the course, or food and lodging.
While it is not a requirement to submit an application to the Coast Guard before taking the course. We highly recommend it.
Application Process Steps
A bit of advice when filling out the Coast Guard forms:
Read and follow the instructions. And then, if you have any questions, please contact us. Above all, our business is helping mariners. However, selling courses is what we do to stay in business.
1. Sea Time
Sea Time, or service, is measured in calendar days. And, it is a record of your experience on boats. Use the Coast Guard (CG) form 719S to document your sea time.
All mariners must enroll in the TWIC program. Most important, save your receipt. And then, include it with your application.
3. Physical Exam and Drug Screening
Firstly, a physical exam is required. Any USA licensed doctor, doctor’s assistant, or NP may do the physical. But, they must use CG form 719K Application for a Medical Cert.
Secondly, a drug screening is also required. The DOT/USCG Drug Screening form 719P is optional. But, the instructions are on page 2 of this form.
4. First Aid and CPR Training
For your first Master, Mate, or OUPV license you must have First Aid and CPR Training certs. Firstly, the date on the certificate must be within one-year of the application date. And secondly, the USCG accepts American Red Cross training certs without question. But, other training certs must include a Coast Guard course approval code.
We recommend Mike Will at 541-217-6579 for First Aid and CPR training.
5. Application form 719B
Application form 719B is required for all applications. Above all, if this is your first MMC, then your signature must be notarized.
Most important: If you answered YES to any question in Section III, Item 2 Criminal Record? Then complete form 719C Disclosure Statement.
6. Pay Fees
Go to the Pay.Gov website, and pay the USCG fees. The fees for the original issue or upgrade of an MMC is $145.
- Firstly, the evaluation fee is $100 for the original issue of an officer endorsement.
- Secondly, the issuance fee is $45.
- And thirdly select “course in lieu of exams” for $0.00 (no fee) when taking an approved course.
Most important, save the receipt, and include it in the application.
7. Regional Exam Center (REC)
Lastly, scan and save all of this to a pdf file. And then, email the file to a USCG Regional Exam Center.
Note: As of July 19, 2021 Portland REC is open for in-person visits. That is to say: they will accept your application, and fee payment over the counter. And, in addition, apply the oath and witness your signature. Email them to schedule an in-person visit. They are not excepting drop-ins at this time.
We recommend Portland REC, but any REC will accept your file.
Portland REC info
- 911 NE 11th Ave, Room 637
- Portland, Oregon 97232
- Phone (503) 231-2296
- Fax (503) 231-6738
- Email to RECPORTLAND@USCG.MIL
In summary, applying for an MMC is not an easy task. In fact, if you made it this far, you are above average. But, don’t forget:
Read and follow the instructions. And then, if you have any questions please contact us. Above all, our business is helping mariners. However, selling classes is what we do to stay in business.